Everything is Toyota at Le Mans


The #8 Toyota shares Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and rookie Ryo Hirakawa. (Toyota photo)

LE MANS, France – The 90th The flow of the 24 Hours of Le Mans came to a familiar conclusion on Sunday afternoon at the famous Sarthe circuit as Toyota Gazoo Racing won the two-hour round-the-clock race for a fifth consecutive year.

Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and rookie Ryo Hirakawa shared the winning #8 Toyota GR010 Hybrid. It was Buemi’s fourth Le Mans win and Hartley’s third.

After triumphs in 2018, 19 and 20 in the Toyota TS050 Hybrid, Buemi now has his fourth victory to his credit. The Swiss ace joins Belgian Olivier Gendebien (1958, 1960-62) and Frenchmen Henri Pescarolo (1972-74, 1984) and Yannick Dalmas (1992, 1994-95, 1999) in the all-time winners rankings of the legendary endurance race on .

It was also a third overall success for Brendon Hartley. The Kiwi shared the wheel with Buemi in 2020 after winning with the Porsche LMP team in 2017.

It was a victory for Toyota in the Hypercar class as the No. 7 machine shared by Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Conqay and Jose Maria Lopez finished second.

Third place in class went to No. 709 Glickenhaus 007 LMH shared by Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Franck Mailleux.

The LMGTE Pro class offered an exciting battle between Porsche, Ferrari and Corvette.

In the end Porsche got the upper hand, Frederic Makowiecki brought the Porsche 911 RSR, which he shared with Richard Lietz and Gianmaria Bruni, to the finish ahead of the Ferrari with James Calado, Daniel Serra and Allessandro Pier Guidi.

Unnamed 1
The Porsche 911 by Richard Lietz, Gianmaria Bruni and Frederic Makowiecki. (Porsche photo)

The Corvettes shared the front row in class and the No. 64 car, shared by Alexander Sims, Nick Tandy and Tommy Milner, was leading the morning class when an incident involving the No. 83 ORECA, owned by Francois Perrodo was driven, leading to an accident of the Corvette in the barrier.

The JOTA No. 38 ORECA 07 Gibson claimed his first LMP2 triumph since 2014 with British driver Will Stevens sharing the car with Roberto Gonzalez and Antonio Felix da Costa. The trio took the lead for the first hour of the race and led the class the rest of the way.

The Prema Orlen No. 9 ORECA finished second up shared by Robert Kubica, Louis Deletraz and Lorenzo Colombo.

TF Sport led the GTE Am class with American Ben Keating claiming his maiden victory at Le Mans aboard the Aston Martin Vantage MR shared with Marco Sorensen and Henrique Chaves.

Le Mans box score

#Toyota #Mans

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.